From this interface, you can communicate with people in your Collaborate session in one of two “Channels’ . Clicking on the Everyone channel will show you the chat for the entire session and clicking on Moderators will allow you to chat privately with only those with the Moderator channel role in the session. This can be useful with the timing of your session and changing over active Moderator.
When someone talks in a channel, their name will appear above the text they have sent. Additionally they will be timestamped so that you can see when a message was sent as this will help with the context of the message if some time has passed.